Thursday 4 December 2014

2015 Committee Elected !

The amended Constitution was voted through at the 2014 AGM, with a very special mention to the incoming Captain for 2015, Martin Dobey, who put in alot of tedious hours to clean up the document.

The Committee for next year elected are:
  • Captain: Martin Dobey
  • President: Mick O'Leary
  • Vice Capt: Leo Mahon
  • Hon Sec; Gerry Cantwell
  • Handicap Sec; Brian Cruise
  • Treasurer; Brian McNamara
  • Comp Sec; Noel Murphy
  • Ray Dunne, Gerry Brady,Jimmy Mulkerrin,Brian Bannerman,Mick kelly

Wednesday 5 November 2014

Proposed changes to DMGC constitution

Below are the links to the proposed changes to our constitution.
This will be voted on at the AGM on Tuesday December 2nd.

Current Constitution

Proposed changes

Saturday 4 October 2014

Friday 3 October 2014

Raining Cats 'n Frogs !

Frog in the 4th hole. Rain forecast to clear overnight, so October medal will go ahead as planned.

Sunday 28 September 2014

Saturday 20 September 2014

Player of the Year 2014 ( Nett section )

Congratulations to Damian Byrne who won the Nett section order of merit for 2014.
A total of 35 points won from the 9 yearly majors, the October medal is still left to play we have a clear winner. With just the final standings left to be decided.
In the Gross section Noel Murphy is our run away leader on 52 points ( and a couple of furlongs ahead), the outcome of the Gross result will be decided on October 4th.

Your best 6 placings from the 9 majors: 7x Monthly Medals + Pres + Capt's are aggregated. i.e. 1st place gets 10 points, down to 10th place which receives 1 point in each event.

Monday 25 August 2014

President's Day Winner 2014

Congratulations to Walter Reidy (43pts) who won the 2014 President's Prize, just edging out last years winner and todays Runner up Damian Byrne, with a back 9 countback, Walters 22 point inward 9 ensured we had a Conclusive winner.
The Club President Leo Mahon would like to thank every member who participated in what was excellent conditions for Golf, despite the weather forecast !

Wednesday 20 August 2014

A great year for the Match Play events, both the singles and Scotch Foursomes were completed ahead of schedule.The Committee would like to thank all competitors for their support in both events.
The Match play organiser Gerry Cantwell ran a tight ship and ensured that all round deadlines were completed on time. It can be unsatisfactory to lose a match to a flip of a coin, so it's important that all 2015 entrants make an effort to arrange their matches in a fair manner. Remember, if you have a problem arranging your match please contact the Match Play organiser a.s.a.p. before the round deadline.

Singles Match Play Winner 2014 : 
Gerry Brady

Runner Up - Brian Cruise
Beaten semi Finalists - John Morgan and Jimmy Graham

Scotch Foursomes Winners 2014
Eoin Boggans & Colm Daly 
Runners Up - Brian Cruise & Mick Duggan

Beaten Semi Finalists - Brian Campbell & Richard Whealans
Ben Kearney & Dave O'Driscoll

Sunday 3 August 2014

Sergio Coyle at the Spanish PGA

Very well done to our former member Sergio Coyle, Who finished 1n 15th place at the

PGA EspaƱa July 31st - August  2nd. 


Sunday 8 June 2014

Captain's Prize 2014 - Sunday June 22nd

 Last chance to submit your 1st card for Capt's Day Sun 22nd,Qualify Sun15th to 4pm. U can still play 18hole event on the 22nd if you cannot make Qualifier.( subject to tee time availability)
Captain's Qualifiers Sat 14th and Sun 15th of June,
If you play on both days your Sunday score will not be counted towards 36 hole result.

Sunday 18 May 2014

Pierce Purcell Shield 2014

Pierce Purcell at Glencullen GC, We finished 4th from 8 teams, our total from best 4 Gross cards was 369. Team: Brian Cruise & Barry Tuite, Mick Kelly and Vincent Leonard,Jim Graham & Leo Mahon, John Morgan & Mick O;Leary, Paul Best & Damian Morrissey.

Sunday 11 May 2014

1st Round Metropolitan Cup V Lucan

Metropolitan Cup V Lucan GC 3.30pm Sun May11th
Lucan win 6 - 3  At Home: Brian Cruise won 8&6, Eamonn Sexton won 3&2, Damian Byrne won 3&2 , whilst Eoin Boggans took his match to the 16th hole. Away team: Mick Duggan, Ray Dunne,Mick Kelly,James Nolan & Philip Querney
Team Manager: Jim Mulkerrin

Saturday 10 May 2014

Barton Cup 2nd Round V Naas GC

Barton Cup  Naas win    -      3.30pm Sat May10th
At Home: Colm Daly & James Nolan were 3up with 4 to play, Eoin Boggans & Brian Cruise were 3up when called in on the 13th, Unfortunately the away team had a bad day at Naas, in horrendous weather conditions, Mick Kelly & Vincent Leonard, Philip Querney & Ray Dunne,Damian Byrne & Noel Murphy.
Captain: Noel Murphy

Friday 25 April 2014

JB Carr Trophy at Howth GC.

Howth win 3&2, Joe Drein & Jim Graham won 2&1, Frank McNamara & John Hopkins were all SQ when called in, Gerry Brady and Leo Mahon took the deciding match right to the wire on the 19th hole.The rest of the matches were all contested strongly, Kevin Behan & Hugh Behan,Eamonn Carroll & Ray Dunne

Thursday 24 April 2014

Leinster 4 Ball Trophy

Castle GC 3 Dublin Mountain 2                       Brian Bannerman & Joe Drein won the 1st match at Home 4&3,  Richard Whealans & Dave O'Driscoll won 3&1, unfortunately Ciaran Colclough & Stephen Redmond lost out to a strong Castle pairing.
Away:  Kevin Barry & Tony Foran took it to the 16th, whilst Leo Mahon & Jimmy Mulkerrin were narrowly beaten on the 17th.

Sunday 20 April 2014

Metropolitan Trophy Preliminary round

Sun April 20th, 2pm  V Slade Valley  5&4 win
At Home: Eamonn Sexton won 3&2, Brian Cruise won 5&4, Colm Daly won 3&2, Eoin Boggins was narrowly defeated on the 19th hole, Ray Dunne took his match to the 16th hole.
Away in Slade Valley: Gerry Brady won 2&1, Mick Duggan won on the 18th, John Morgan took it to the 13th, Gerry Cantwell battled to the 16th hole. Team Captain: Jim Mulkerrin

Monday 14 April 2014

Another win for Brian Hendrick's J B Carr team, this time at home against Donabate Golf Club.
Eamonn Carroll & Leo Mahon, Joe Drein & Jimmy Graham . Kevin Behan & Hugh Behan, Gerry Brady & Bernard O'Callaghan, Frank McNamara & Ray Dunne ,
They will next face Howth Golf Club away in the last 8 of the Eastern section draw.

Sunday 13 April 2014

12th Hole

Barton Cup 2014 1st round

We won 3&2 versus Carrickmines . Damian Byrne & Noel Murphy were 8&6 winners, Eoin Boggins & Brian Cruise won 6&5, with Colm Daly & James Nolan winning the deciding match on the 17th.Our away team were Jimmy Graham& Eamonn Sexton; Mick Kelly & Vincent Leonard.    Team Captain : Noel Murphy

April Medal Winner

Well done to David Jones our first medal winner of the year !

With a score of 67 in testing conditions.

Thursday 27 March 2014

J B Carr Trophy

A great win away from home in the JB Carr at Beaverstown Golf Club.

Team Captain : Brian Hendrick

Sunday 23 March 2014

Capt's Drive in 2014

The new 2014 season kicked off on March 23rd for the Captain’s Drive in.. Midweek comps are now back up and running, members €5, non full members €15.

Captain Jim Drives off to start the new golfing season.

Ladies Captain 2014 Sheila Kelly ( far right )